Diplomatic Briefing

Your exclusive news aggregator handpicked daily!

Newsline: Sweden, Denmark, Italy and Spain expel Russian diplomats

Sweden, Denmark, Italy and Spain announced separately Tuesday that they will expel dozens of Russian diplomats following similar expulsions from other European Union countries. Several EU members, including Germany and France, have now announced Russian dismissals after evidence surfaced of atrocities in the Ukrainian town of Bucha in the wake of Russia’s military withdrawal from northern Ukraine. Italy said it expelled 30 Russian diplomats, while Spain said it will order 25 to leave, Denmark 15 and Sweden three. (https://www.axios.com/sweden-denmark-italy-expel-russian-diplomats-9423bfa7-f074-4afb-9d77-e47e56c138da.html) All four countries said the diplomats were either not acting in accordance with international rules or pose a national security threat to their governments. Russian media reported that the Russian foreign ministry intends to at least respond to Italy’s expulsions, though retaliative actions are expected to be announced against other countries.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: